My Morning Routine

by Victoria C. Anderson

A couple of days ago I took my love of lists and organizing a bit farther than usual – and actually wrote out a list of everything I need to do in the morning, in the order in which I ought to do them for maximum efficiency. Because I am all about efficiency.

Also, I’m never really sure how anyone can wake up five minutes before they have to leave for class, or work, or whatever. It doesn’t work. I need that first five minutes to really wake up, and then there’s so many things that you have to do to be really ready for the day ahead, especially when you occasionally like to wear makeup. But it’s also not just about primping and cleansing and all of that. There’s a good amount of business that goes on in here before I ever run (walk purposefully) out the door. As you’ll soon see.

To begin, I wake up at either 6 or 6:30 on weekdays and 8 (mostly) on the weekends. After waking, in order, I:

1. Drink a half glass of water on the couch in the living room as I wake up.
(I’m trying to drink more water after coming to the realization that I’m usually half-dehydrated. Plus, water tastes so good first thing in the morning.)

2. Do 10 minutes or 45 minutes of Yoga.
(This is less for the calming effects of yoga, and more because it’s exercise I can do quietly, in the comfort of my own home, without anyone have to see me sweat and gasp and occasionally screw up. I do that a lot. Especially on balances.)

3. Start coffee.
(So it will be ready when I finish showering and cleaning up.)

4. Morning Cleansing.
(Meaning all the stuff I have to do in the bathroom. List to follow.)

  • Put in contacts.
  • Brush teeth.
  • Shower or wash face if I’m not taking a shower that morning.
  • Do my hair. (This is easy, since my hair is boy-short.)
  • Moisturize my face. (By this point it’s starting to get all dried out from showering/washing my face.)
  • Put on Deodorant.
  • Put on make-up if desired. (No, I don’t always wear make-up.)
  • Wash and moisturize hands. (Otherwise they’ll get cracked.)

6. Change out of robe and into clothes.

7. Prepare breakfast.
(Lately this has been vanilla yogurt and granola. Yum!)

Then, while I’m eating my delicious breakfast and drinking coffee, I:

8. Process my inboxes. This includes:

  • notebook
  • email
  • physical inbox on my desk

9. Review today’s schedule.
(This is usually the same. But it’s nice to know that if something had changed, I would be reminded of it here.)

10. Review To Do Lists.
(A reminder of things that I’ve been meaning to do.)

11. Decide on 3-5 Most Important Tasks.
(3 on weekdays, 4-5 on weekends. I borrow the idea of Most Important Tasks (MITs) from ZenHabits, which you should check out. One of my MITs is ALWAYS working on my novel for an hour.)

12. Update my budget to include any money I spent in the last 24 hours.

13. Work on my first MIT until 7:55am.

14. Pack my bag for work and leave for the day.
(Of course, I don’t stop working at 7:55 and pack my bag for work on weekends. On weekends I just keep working until I finish! Exhilirating.)

I always like to hear how other people plan their days, or plan anything in general, or don’t plan things at all. So definitely feel free to let me know how you get yourself ready in the morning!
(Or, you know, that you think I’m crazy for planning out my mornings so specifically. That’s fine too.)

